Admin Login

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers – Tipperary 1-21 Derry 2-17

By Jonathan Cullen Sat 23rd Jul


Tipperary defeated Derry by 1-21 to 2-17 in Round 4A of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Qualifiers on Saturday July 23rd at Kingspan Breffni Park Cavan.

Click to view post-match photos from the game

Fightback takes Tipperary’s footballers into their first ever All-Ireland quarter-final

By John Fogarty for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 1-21 Derry 2-17

Conor Sweeney was the hero for Tipperary in Cavan as they mounted a late fightback to reach their first All-Ireland quarter-final. Liam Kearns’ side will face Galway in Croke Park tomorrow week after Sweeney slotted over two additional time points as Tipperary recovered from a Eoghan Brown goal in the 67th minute.

In a fascinating game spoiled by a glut of questionable refereeing decisions that hurt both sides, Derry went two points up via the excellent Danny Heavron in the last minute of regulation time but Tipperary responded impressively with points from Kevin O’Halloran (free) and Sweeney’s sweet brace.

Tipperary would have kicked themselves had they lost this having been five points up on the hour mark. O’Halloran goaled in the 48th minute when he made the most of a poor Thomas Mallon clearance after he fielded a Bill Maher point attempt that had dropped short.

It was Maher’s point which put Tipp five clear but Derry responded with points from Mark Lynch, Liam McGoldrick and Chris Bradley before Brown finished to the net from a move involving Lynch and Ciaran McFaul saw Derry go one up.

Tipperary didn’t register a wide until the 25th minute but they then accumulated four in as many minutes. Aided by the wind, those misses were costly and underlined further by Derry’s flurry towards the end of the half.

In two minutes, Derry took Tipperary for 1-2, a Lynch free and Enda Lynn finding the posts either side of Lynch’s goal, which was created by a brilliant burst from midfield from Heavron, Derry’s best player in that period. Niall Loughlin scored three first-half points but Tipperary were struggling to handle Heavron’s runs.

Both teams were also poor on their own kick-out and at least 1-5 of Derry’s 1-7 first half total came by way of winning ball from Tipperary restarts. Tipperary went in one behind, having scored 10 points, but they badly needed a goal yet it was Derry who were threatening more at the other end.

Tipperary led by four points in the 19th minute but they needed scores from injury-time points from O’Halloran and Quinlivan to give them something more to show for a first half where they were marginally the better side.

Scorers for Tipperary: K. O’Halloran (1-5, 0-4 frees, 0-1 45); M. Quinlivan (0-6, 4 frees); C. Sweeney (0-5); J. Keane (0-2); P. Austin, P. Acheson, B. Maher (0-1 each).

Scorers for Derry: M. Lynch (1-4, 0-3 frees); D. Heavron (0-4); N. Loughlin (0-3); E. Brown (1-0); J. Kielt (0-2, 1 free); E. Lynn, E. Bradley, L. McGoldrick, C. Bradley (0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: E. Comerford; C. McDonald, A. Campbell, J. Feehin; B. Maher, C. O’Shaughnessy, R. Kiely; P. Acheson (c), G. Hannigan; J. Keane, M. Quinlivan, B. Fox; K. O’Halloran, P. Austin, C. Sweeney
Subs for Tipperary: A. Moloney for G. Hannigan (h-t); S. Leahy for R. Kiely (67); M. Hanley for C. O’Shaughnessy (70+4); K O’Halloran (black, 75).

DERRY: T. Mallon; O. Duffy, B. Rogers, C. Mullan; K. McKaigue, C. McKaigue (c), C. McAtamney; C. McFaul, N. Holly; E. Lynn, D. Heavron, N. Loughlin; J. Kielt, E. McGuckin, M. Lynch
Subs for: N. Toner for E. Lynn (43); C. Bradley for J. Kielt (50); E. Bradley for N. Holly (52); L. McGoldrick for O. Duffy (56); E. Brown for E. McGuckin (62); N. Forrester for D. Heavron (inj, 70+3).

Referee: M. Duffy (Sligo)

Ticket Information

Adult: €20.00/£16.00
Juvenile (Under 16 Years of Age): €5.00/£5.00
Concessions (Student/OAP): €10.00 tickets available at the stadium on match day with valid ID

Click to purchase tickets in advance

Team News

The Tipperary team to play Derry in tomorrow’s All-Ireland Football Championship round 4A qualifier in Kingspan Breffni Park, Cavan has been announced by manager Liam Kearns. Liam keeps faith with the starting 15 that lined out against Kerry in their recent Munster Final.

The Tipperary team lines out as follows –

1. Evan Comerford – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy – Ardfinnan
3. Alan Campbell – Moyle Rovers
4. Ciarán Mc Donald – Aherlow
5. Bill Maher – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
6. Robbie Kiely – Carbery Rangers
7. Jimmy Feehan – Killenaule
8. Peter Acheson (Capt.) – Moyle Rovers
9. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
10. Josh Keane – Golden-Kilfeacle
11. Kevin O’Halloran – Portroe
12. Brian Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty
13. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
15. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen

The Derry team to play Tipperary in Round 4A of the All-Ireland SFC Qualifiers at Kingspan Breffni Park on Saturday (5.00pm) is as follows:
1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Gareth McKinless (Baile an Doire)
3. Chrissy McKaigue (Sleacht Néill) (C)
4. Karl McKaigue (Sleacht Néill)
5. Ciarán McFaul (Gleann)
6. Brendan Rogers (Sleacht Néill)
7. Ciarán Mullan (Eoghan Rua)
8. Conor McAtamney (Suaitreach)
9. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
10. Daniel Heavron (Machaire Fíolta)
11. Christopher Bradley (Sleacht Néill)
12. Eoghan Brown (Baile Eachaidh)
13. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Machaire Fíolta)
15. Mark Lynch (Beannchar)
16. Conor McLernon (Machaire Fíolta)
17. Neil Forester (Baile Stíl)
18. Liam McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
19. Michael McEvoy (Machaire Fíolta)
20. Cailean O’Boyle (Leamhaigh)
21. Oisín Duffy (Forghleann)
22. Niall Toner (Leamhaigh)
23. Niall Loughlin (Grianloch)
24. Emmett Bradley (Gleann)
25. Enda Lynn (Grianloch)
26. Gerard O’Kane (Gleann an Iolair)

Another novel championship pairing as Tipperary bid to reach the All-Ireland quarter-finals for the first time while Derry are attempting to qualify for them for the first time since 2007.

Derry are coming off three successive qualifier wins over Louth, Meath and Cavan while Tipperary beat Waterford and Cork before losing to Kerry in the Munster final.

Tyrone 3-14 Derry 0-12 (Ulster quarter-final)
Derry 1-18 Louth 2-10 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 1)
Derry 1-14 Meath 1-11 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 2)
Derry 1-17 Cavan 0-18 (All-Ireland qualifiers – Round 3)
Tipperary 1-15 Waterford 1- 7 (Munster quarter-final)
Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-16 (Munster semi-final)
Kerry 3-17 Tipperary 2-10 (Munster final)


By Jonathan Cullen Sat 23rd Jul


Related News

View All