Admin Login


Welcome to the Hurling section of the Tipperary GAA web page. Hurling is the No.1 sport in Tipperary. Tipperary have won 28 All-Ireland Senior Hurling titles and over 60 All-Ireland titles in all grades. They also top the charts in the National League with 19 titles.

Tipperary Senior Hurling Panel – Player Profiles
List of Hurley Makers
Tipperary is known as the Premier County and the G.A.A. in Tipperary were first in a number of areas since the foundation of the Association.

  1. The Gaelic Athletic Association was founded in Hayes’s Hotel, Thurles on November 1, 1884.
  2. Four of the seven founders were Tipperary men: Maurice Davin from Carrick-on-Suir, J. K. Bracken of Templemore, P. J. Ryan of Carrick-on-Suir and Thomas St. George McCarthy, Bansha. Davin was the first President of the G.A.A. and the only President to serve two separate terms of office.
  3. Tipperary won the first hurling All-Ireland when they beat Galway in the final played in Birr on Easter Sunday, 1888.
  4. Tipperary were the first county to win three All-Irelands in the one year. The county won the senior, junior and minor in 1930.
  5. As well as winning the first senior hurling All-Ireland, Tipperary also won the first junior football All-Ireland in 1912, the first under-21 All-Ireland in 1964 and the first All-Ireland club championship in 1971.
  6. W. J. Spain of Nenagh, Co. Tipperary was the first player to win two All-Irelands in both codes. He won a football All-Ireland with Limerick in 1887 and a hurling All-Ireland with Dublin in 1889.
  7. Jimmy Doyle of Thurles Sarsfields, Co. Tipperary played in four minor hurling All-Irelands. He lost the first to Dublin in 1954 and won the remaining three in 1955, 1956 and 1957. He also played in nine senior All-Irelands, winning six in 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964, 1965 and 1971. The losses occurred in the 1960, 1967 and 1968 finals.
  8. Tony Wall of Thurles Sarsfields, Co. Tipperary was the first recipient of the Caltex (predecessor of Texaco) Hurler of the Year award in 1958.
  9. John Doyle of Holycross-Ballycahill, Co. Tipperary shares with Christy Ring of Cork the distinction of having won eight senior All-Ireland hurling medals on the field of play. However, he has another, unsurpassed, distinction: he is the holder of eleven National League hurling medals, won in 1949, 1950, 1952, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961,1964, 1965
  10. Feile na nGael was a Tipperary brainchild and was held for the first time in Thurles in 1971.
  11. The first radio broadcast of a G.A.A. game was of the replay of the Munster championship game between Cork and Tipperary at Thurles in 1926.
  12. Tipperary got four players on the ‘Team of the Century’ in 1984, Tony Reddin, John Doyle, Jimmy Finn and Jimmy Doyle.
  13. Tipperary won the first ever All-Ireland Ladies Football Senior Final in 1974 and repeated the feat the following year.
  14. Tipperary played Waterford on October 3rd 1971 in the first ever Ladies Football inter-county match. The match was played in Ballypatrick, a little village outside Clonmel on the foothills of Slievenamon with Tipperary winning by a couple of points.