Admin Login
Galtee Rovers

Galtee Rovers

Fanaithe na nGailtí Peacaun Naofa

Club Colours:

Galtee Rovers

Fanaithe na nGailtí Peacaun Naofa

Visit Website Send Email Call Club
  • Galtee Rovers, Ballinlough East, Bansha, Co. Tipperary, E34 RY62

Club Information

Galtee Rovers GAA, also called Galtee Rovers—St. Pecaun’s is a Gaelic Athletic Association club located in the village of Bansha on the National Primary Route N24 in the shadow of the Galtee Mountains in west County TipperaryIreland. The club, founded in 1885, represents the parish of Bansha & Kilmoyler and enters gaelic football and hurling teams in the West Tipperary and Tipperary championships. The Club grounds – Canon Hayes Park – are named in honour of the founder of Muntir na Tíre, Very Rev. John Canon Hayes, Parish Priest of Bansha & Kilmoyler (1946–57), who was patron of the Club during his pastorship. The Club pavilion is named ‘The McGrath Centre’ in honour of two club members, the late John & Geraldine McGrath who died on New Year’s Day, 1 January 2000. John Moloney, referee of six All-Ireland Senior Finals, was President of the Galtee Rovers Club at the time of his death on 6 October 2006. In addition to his work at national level in the Gaelic Athletic Association, at club level he coached and organised the juvenile and under-age players for nearly 50 years.

Galtee Rovers is a traditional football club, however in modern times it has enjoyed a hurling renaissance from the late 1990s through the early years of the 21st century. The Club was one of the few dual (hurling and football) senior clubs for five years from 2001 to 2006. However, it lost its senior hurling status after defeat in the West Divisional and County championships in 2006. The club’s main focus at senior level for the immediate future is expected to be in football, while continuing to compete in the Intermediate hurling championship. The club’s endeavours in football were rewarded in 2008 when Rovers regained the County Tipperary Senior Football Championship after an interval of 27 years by defeating neighbouring Cahir, 0-7 to 0-5 in the final played at Cashel on Sunday, 26 October 2008.

In 2003, the club won all six major championships in West Tipperary, i.e., Senior Hurling & Football; Under-21(grade A) Hurling & Football and Minor (grade A) Hurling & Football.

Committee Information

Role Name Phone Email
Chairman James Russell 083 1052016 EMAIL
Secretary Marie McCarthy 087 1498496 EMAIL
Treasurer Mike Barry 087 1384006 EMAIL
PRO Tony O'Brien 087 6382376 EMAIL
County Board Draw Coordinator Mike Barry 087 1384006 EMAIL

More Clubs