• GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Clean Ireland Recycling Tipperary Senior Hurling & Intermediate Hurling Finals

October 10th, 2013

The Clean Ireland Recycling Senior and Intermediate Hurling finals will be played at Semple Stadium on Sunday next, October 13. The intermediate decider between Ballina and Moyne Templetuohy will start at 1.15pm while the senior final between Nenagh Eire Og and Loughmore Castleiney will be at 3.30pm. Nenagh qualified for the final by defeating Kildangan in the semi-final replay by 1-17 to 0-12 on Sunday last in Semple Stadium.


Both stands will be open at Semple Stadium for the finals next Sunday and admission prices will be €15 for adults, €10 for OAPs and students with id (pay for full ticket and refund available at designated stiles). Tickets will be on sale during the week in Sheedy’s Centra in Nenagh and O’Connell’s Centra in Templemore and other Centra and SuperValu stores throughout the count. Supporters are encouraged to buy tickets in advance to make access quicker on Sunday.


Ciaran McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney Captain

Richie Flannery – Nenagh Eire Og Player

Rody Kennedy – Ballina Vice-Captain

Tom Meade – Moyne-Templetuohy Vice-Captain

County PRO Ger Ryan on Sunday’s County Final Itinerary and Tipptoberfest


Nenagh Eire Og will be seeking their second title having won their first in 1995 when they defeated Boherlahan Dualla by 2-25 to 2-8. They have lost 3 finals, all to Toomevara, in 1993, 1999 and 2006. Loughmore Castleiney have won the title on two occasions previously – 2007 when they defeated Drom and Inch by 0-22 to 0-13 and 1988 when they defeated Borris-Ileigh by 207 to 1-8 in a replay. Loughmore have also lost 2 finals in 1983 and 1987. Loughmore still have the possibility of a county senior double this year as they are in the senior football championship semi-finals also. Nenagh and Loughmore Castleiney have met only twice in the latter stages of the county senior hurling championship. In 1988 at Cashel, Loughmore won a quarter final clash by 3-8 to 0-9 and in 2007 they won a semi-final encounter by 0-15 to 0-13. Interestingly, Loughmore won the county title in both years of these games against Nenagh.


Moyne Templetuohy will be seeking their second county title at this grade having won previously in 1983 while Ballina are seeking their first ever senior title. Depending on the result, there will be an additional senior hurling team in the North or Mid divisions for next year.


The referee for the senior final will be John McCormack of Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams. John, following in the footsteps of Fergal Horgan and Sean Bradshaw will be the third Knockavilla club man in 5 years to referee the county senior hurling final. The intermediate final will be refereed by another West Tipperary man, John O’Brien of Arravale Rovers.


There will be juvenile Go Games played at half time in the senior game. It’s a big day for all the juveniles with many of them playing in Semple Stadium for the first time so please give them plenty of support.


The county board, in conjunction with the Tipperary Star and Templemore Arms Hotel will honour the Loughmore-Castleiney senior hurling team that won the 1988 county final on county final day, October 13. The team defeated Borris-Ileigh in a replayed final on October 8 by 2-7 to 1-8, following a late goal by Pat McGrath. The victory brought the club its first senior county title and the Dan Breen Cup was received after the game by captain, Eamon Sweeney. The members of the team and the panel and selectors will be hosted at a reception by the county board before the county final and will be guests in the VIP section for the game. They will be introduced to the crowd before the final and will be guests at a dinner in the Templemore Arms Hotel afterwards. Two of the players that day – Pat McGrath and Seamus Bohan – are selectors with the current team so a busy day beckons for them on Sunday. Well done to the organising committee chaired by Seamus J. King and also including John Costigan, Siobhain Mackey and Pat Carey.


There will be deferred coverage of the final on TG4 but we would encourage as many people as possible to attend the finals. It’s the biggest hurling day of the year in club hurling in Tipperary and the best place to be is undoubtedly Semple Stadium.

Our Sponsors