Admin Login

AIB Munster GAA Football Intermediate Club Championship Quarter Final – De La Salle (Waterford) 4-6 Ballyporeen (Tipperary) 2-12 1st Nov

By Jonathan Cullen Thu 14th Nov


Battling Ballyporeen earn replay

By Conor Kane for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Ballyporeen (Tipperary) 2-12 De La Salle (Waterford) 4-06 (aet)

Not even extra-time could split these teams and both Ballyporeen and De La Salle went home thinking they had the winning of this Munster Club IFC quarter-final in Clonmel. An amazing second-half had Ballyporeen nine down with 19 to play, yet they led by one in the closing minutes after a comeback inspired by captain Conor Sweeney which saw them score 1-7 without answer. After being in a seemingly-unassailable position, it was De La Salle who needed a late Oran Keevers equaliser to send the game into extra-time. Two first-half goals by Jake Dillon, following their opener by Mitchell Casey, and then a fourth goal in the second-half from Ian Cantwell when he kept the ball on the ground left them well ahead. But Ballyporeen kept plugging away and Tommy Sweeney bagged their second goal — the first by Conor Sweeney in the opening half — to keep them in the hunt. Extra-time proved anti-climactic as legs grew tired and the evening grew dull, and the teams have to do it all once more.

Scorers for Ballyporeen: C Sweeney (1-8, 4fs), T Sweeney (1-0), J O’Callaghan (0-2), F O’Sullivan, D Barrett (0-1 each).

Scorers for De La Salle: J Dillon (2-0), I Cantwell (1-3, 3f), M Casey (1-0), E Barrett, O Keevers, S Walsh (0-1 each).

BALLYPOREEN: M Sweeney; S O’Callaghan, D Russell, B Breedy; E Morrissey, W English, R O’Callaghan; J O’Callaghan, J Martin; P Fitzgerald, C Sweeney, D Lyons; S Lynch, T Sweeney, F O’Sullivan.
Subs: E Kearney for E Morrissey, A Crotty for D Russell, D Barrett for F O’Sullivan, N Barrett for S Lynch, D Hyland for P Fitzgerald.

DE LA SALLE: D Dennison; S Dalton, C Clancy, C Sheehan; O Keevers, T Kearney, D Kennedy; J Kennedy, E Barrett; I Cantwell, M Casey, K Byrne; C Morris, L Hayes, P Kennedy.
Subs: J Dillon for P Kennedy, S Walsh for K Byrne, A Farrell for M Casey, D Twomey for L Hayes.

Ref: Richard Moloney (Limerick)


When – Sunday November 3rd at 2:00pm

Where – Clonmel Sportsfield

Referee – Richard Moloney (Limerick)

Extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 60 minutes

Replay date – Saturday November 9th at a Waterford venue

Next Round – the winners will play Clyda Rovers (Cork) in the Munster Semi-Final on Sunday November 10th at a Tipperary or Waterford venue.

Admission Prices
Adults – €10
Student/OAP – €5
Under 16s free

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

For the Record

  Ballyporeen (Tipperary) De La Salle (Waterford)
Number of Munster Club Intermediate Football titles
(by County)
0 0
Last Munster Intermediate Football Title (by County) N/A N/A
Munster Club Intermediate Football Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative Played – 14
Won – 4
Lost –  10
Drawn – 0
Played – 11
Won – 3
Lost –  8
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Club Intermediate Football Championship involving participating county representatives November 20th 2011 at Fraher Field Dungarvan
(Munster Club Semi-Final)
Mullinahone (Tipperary) 0-14 Dungarvan (Waterford) 1-3


Munster GAA FOOTBALL Club Intermediate Championship 2013

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday November 3rd

@ Clonmel Sportsfield                    Ballyporeen (Tipperary) v De La Salle (Waterford) 2:00pm

@ Askeaton              St. Mary’s Sean Finns (Limerick)

v St. Joseph’s Milltown Malbay (Clare) 2:00pm

(Extra time)
Sunday November 10th

@ Tipperary or Waterford venue   Clyda Rovers (Cork) v

Ballyporeen (Tipperary) De La Salle (Waterford) 2:00pm

@ Limerick or Clare venue Currow (Kerry) v St. Mary’s Sean Finns (Limerick)

or St. Joseph’s Milltown Malbay (Clare) 2:00pm

Final (Extra time)

Sunday November 24th

Odds and Ends

Since the competition began in 2003, Kerry clubs have won 7 of the 10 Munster titles on offer, including the last 7 in a row. Cork clubs have won the other 3 Munster titles in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Kerry’s Club Intermediate Football champions have won their last 17 matches in this competition.

Munster GAA Club FOOTBALL Intermediate Championship Roll Of Honour

Kerry (7) – 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

Cork (3) – 2003, 2004, 2005

All Ireland GAA Club FOOTBALL Intermediate Championship

In the Club Intermediate Football All Ireland Roll of Honour, Kerry clubs have secured 3 titles courtesy of Ardfert (Kerry – 2006/2007), St. Michael’s Foilmore (Kerry – 2008/2009) and Milltown-Castlemaine (Kerry – 2011/2012). Cork clubs have won 2 All-Ireland titles at this grade – Ilen Rovers (Cork – 2003/2004) and Carbery Rangers (Cork – 2004/2005).

By Jonathan Cullen Thu 14th Nov


Related News

View All