• GAA Museums and tours Leaderboard

  • GAA Belong

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Tipperary 1-23 Dublin 0-12

February 13th, 2016

Tipperary defeated Dublin by 1-23 to 0-12 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Saturday February 13th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

D1A: Tipperary off to perfect start

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A: Tipperary 1-23 Dublin 0-12

By Jackie Cahill for GAA.ie

Tipperary crushed Dublin by 14 points in Thurles this evening to signal their Allianz Hurling League Division 1A intent. Michael Ryan’s first competitive game in charge of the Premier County resulted in a big Semple Stadium win.

Tipp may have opted out of the pre-season Munster Senior League but were quickly into their stride against the disappointing Sky Blues, with Jason Forde hitting 1-5 from play in front of 5,105 spectators.

For Dublin and their manager Ger Cunningham, this was a setback following Walsh Cup glory as Tipp dictated the terms of engagement right from the start. Tipp had the breeze at their backs in the opening half and wasted no time getting down to business.

By half-time, the hosts were 1-9 to 0-3 clear and Forde hit the 13th minute goal, breaking onto loose ball before firing a low strike past Conor Dooley, who had done brilliantly within the first 25 seconds to keep out John McGrath.

A new, direct approach from Tipp was evident but they spoiled much of their good work by registering 10 first half wides. Still, Tipp had the scoreboard ticking over with regularity as Dublin struggled to create much.Paul Ryan, whipped off at half-time, sent a couple of scoreable frees wide while other efforts from teammates dropped short.

Noel McGrath, starting a competitive game for Tipp for the first time since his successful battle with cancer last year picked off a gorgeous first half score on a night when his brother John also did well.


Scorers for Tipperary: J Forde 1-5, J McGrath 0-7 (5f), C Kenny & J O’Dwyer 0-3 each, Pádraic Maher & N McGrath 0-2 each, D Fitzelle 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin: D Treacy 0-3f, N McMorrow 0-2, D Plunkett, E Dillon, D O’Callaghan, P Ryan (f), M Schutte, D O’Connell & C Cronin 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; C Barrett, T Hamill, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, Pádraic Maher; M Breen, D Quinn; D McCormack, Patrick Maher, J Forde; N McGrath, C Kenny, J McGrath
Subs: D Fitzelle for Patrick Maher (47), J Gallagher for Breen (58), J O’Dwyer for McCormack (58), J Meagher for B Maher (66), L Ryan for Quinn (67).

DUBLIN: C Dooley; J Boland, E O’Donnell, O Gough; C O’Callaghan, C Crummy, S Barrett; N McMorrow, J McCaffrey; D Plunkett, E Dillon, D Treacy; D O’Callaghan, P Ryan, M Schutte
Subs: C Cronin for Ryan (h.t.), D O’Connell for Plunkett (48), O O’Rorke for O’Callaghan (59), F McGibb for McCaffrey (63)

Referee: C Lyons (Cork)

Match Preview

Fixture Details

Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A Round 1
Semple Stadium, Thurles 19:00
Tiobraid Árann v Áth Cliath
Referee: Colm Lyons (Corcaigh)

Team News

The Tipperary Senior Hurling panel selected to take on Dublin in their opening Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A fixture in Semple Stadium this Saturday night, February 13th at 7pm has been announced by manager Michael Ryan.

Michael has handed starting league debuts to Daire Quinn from Nenagh Éire Óg who lines out in midfield and also to Dan McCormack from Borris Ileigh who starts at right half forward.

The McGrath brothers Noel and John line out together once again since both last made joint appearances in last year’s league.

The full panel then is as follows;

1) Darren Gleeson – (Portroe)
2) Cathal Barrett – (Holycross Ballycahill)
3) Tomás Hamill – (Moyne Templetuohy)
4) Michael Cahill – (Thurles Sarsfields)
5) Brendan Maher Capt. – (Borris Ileigh)
6) James Barry – (Upperchurch Drombane)
7) Padraic Maher – (Thurles Sarsfields)
8) Michael Breen – (Ballina)
9) Daire Quinn – (Nenagh Éire Óg)
10) Dan McCormack – (Borris Ileigh)
11) Patrick Maher – (Lorrha Dorrha)
12) Jason Forde – (Silvermines)
13) Noel McGrath – (Loughmore Castleiney)
14) Conor Kenny – (Borris Ileigh)
15) John McGrath – (Loughmore Castleiney)
16) Darragh Mooney – (Eire Óg Annacarty)
17) Ronan Maher – (Thurles Sarsfields)
18) Willie Ryan – (Clonakenny)
19) Liam Ryan – (Drom & Inch)
20) John Meagher – (Loughmore Castleiney)
21) Joe Gallagher – (Kiladangan)
22) Adrian Ryan – (Templederry Kenyons)
23) Dylan Fitzelle – (Cashel King Cormacs)
24) Sean Ryan – (Sean Treacy’s)
25) Andrew Coffey – (Nenagh Eire Óg)
26) John O’Dwyer – (Killenaule)

DUBLIN (HL v Tipperary):

C Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s); J Boland (Na Fianna), C O’Callaghan (Cuala), O Gough (Cuala); E O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille), C Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields), S Barrett (Na Fianna); N McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s), J McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields); D Plunkett (St Brigid’s), E Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra), D Treacy (Cuala); P Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s), D O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda’s), M Schutte (Cuala).


With their opening Allianz Hurling League Roinn 1A fixture against Dublin just three days away, the Tipperary Senior Hurling panel and management team are looking forward to the commencement of the 2016 AHL. This is the first of the National competitions this group have the opportunity to compete in and team preparations have been good in advance of the start of the new season.
Tipperary management have a hardworking, committed bunch of players who are all looking for opportunities to play at this level where the ambition is to qualify for the Quarter-Final stages of the league after the 5 game series.
With the demands of the league intense, every player in the training squad is a key figure in the overall success of the unit.

That said, Michael Ryan’s side have some injury concerns which will impact on availability of the following players – Seamus Callanan will be out for a further couple of weeks, Conor O’Brien will be out for 3 weeks, Kieran Bergin will also be out for 2 weeks while new panelist Sean Curran has suffered a medial ligament injury which will result in Sean missing the entire League.

A panel of 26 players for the opening game against Dublin in Semple Stadium this Saturday night, February 13th, will be announced on Thursday night and this then will be reviewed before each Allianz Hurling League game.

Is mise le meas,

Joe Bracken,
PRO Co. Board


February 13/14: Round 1

February 20/21: Round 2

March 5/6: Round 3

March 12/13: Round 4

March 20: Round 5

March 26: Div 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B finals

April 2/3: Division 1 quarter-finals

April 17: Division 1 semi-finals

May 1: Division1 final


19 – Tipperary (1928-49-50-52-54-55-57-59-60-61-64-65-68-79-88-94-99-2001-2008)

17 – Kilkenny (1933-62-66-76-82-83-86-90-95-2002-2003-2005-2006-2009-2012-2013-2014)

14 – Cork (1926-30-40-41-48-53-69-70-72-74-80-81-93-98)

11 – Limerick (1934-35-36-37-38-47-71-84-85-92-97)

9 – Galway (1932-51-75-87-89-96-2000-2004-2010)

4 – Wexford (1956-58-67-73)

3 – Clare (1946-77-78)

3 – Waterford (1963-2007-2015)

3 – Dublin (1929-39-2011)

1 – Offaly (1991)


Our Sponsors