• GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Tipperary Management teams confirmed

November 3rd, 2015

Tipperary Management teams confirmed

The following management teams have been ratified at the Tipperary County Board meeting on Tuesday November 3rd –

Senior Hurling – Michael Ryan (Manager), Declan Fanning (Coach) and John Madden (Selector)

Under 21 Hurling – William Maher (Manager), John Devane (Coach) and Billy O’Shea (Selector & Under 21 panel link to Senior)

Minor Hurling – Previous management team returned on block led by manager Liam Cahill with Sean Corbett, John Sheedy & TJ Ryan with coach Michael Bevans

Senior, Under 21 and Minor Football – to be ratified at the next County Committee meeting

Tipperary GAA Press Release

At a meeting of Tipperary County Board the following managerial hurling teams were ratified to lead Tipperary teams in 2016 and beyond. In making this announcement Tipperary County Board would also like to acknowledge and thank all departed managers, selectors and backroom teams who at all times worked tirelessly and professionally in the pursuit of excellence and success with each panel entrusted to them and are wished well in the careers ahead.

In particular one individual was singled out for special mention and that man was Eamon O’Shea. Glowing tributes to Eamon from Chairman Michael Bourke were echoed by past chairmen Seán Nugent and John Costigan.

Heading into 2016, the Tipperary Senior Hurling Panel as already known will be under the managerial watch of Michael Ryan. The Upperchurch-Drombane clubman won an All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship medal in 1991 at left corner back.

In 2010 when Tipperary last lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup Michael was a selector alongside his immediate predecessor and coach that year Eamon O’Shea and manager Liam Sheedy. v With a vast amount of experience to his credit Michael played a pivotal part during Eamon O’Shea’s reign and carries through a seamless managerial transition into the coming year.

No stranger to the Tipperary set up, 2010 All-Ireland winner Declan Fanning from Killenaule remains in place also from this year and Declan will assume coach responsibilities. The 2007 All Star winner has been involved with Tipperary teams at all grades from minor to senior and also lined out for Tipperary senior footballers.

John Madden from Lorrha Dorrha is the new appointment to the Tipperary Senior Management team as he once again links up with former team mate Michael Ryan following their 1991 All Ireland success. A two time All Ireland winner John also had a very successful spell in New York and this year managed Silvermines in the Tipperary senior championship.

The Tipperary U21 hurling panel will be managed by William Maher from Ballingarry, who returns to Tipperary management following his All Ireland Minor managerial success in 2012. John Devane from Clonoulty Rossmore is coach and John brings a depth of knowledge from his playing career with club and county as well as his involvement with Thurles C.B.S. teams.

Billy O’Shea from Kilruane MacDonaghs as selector is the third man on the U21 management team and will also provide liaison duties between the U21 and Senior panels. Billy guided his club Kilruane MacDonaghs to the Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship semi-final this year losing narrowly to eventual champions Thurles Sarsfields.

The outgoing Tipperary Minor Hurling management team have been re-appointed for a 2 year term with a review after 1 year. So it is as you were with manager Liam Cahill from Ballingarry, Michael Bevans from Toomevara as coach, and selectors John Sheedy from Portroe, T.J. Ryan from Clonoulty Rossmore and Seán Corbett of Durlas Óg.

Joe Bracken,
Acting PRO

Our Sponsors