Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Tipperary 0-14 Thurles CBS All Stars 1-7 – Bicentennial Exhibition Match

January 17th, 2016

Tipperary defeated the Thurles CBS All Stars by 0-14 to 1-7 in a Bicentennial Exhibition Match on Sunday January 17th at The Ragg.

Thurles CBS is 200 years old this year with a number of celebratory events planned. The first of these is a senior hurling challenge against Tipperary seniors on January 17th at 2pm in The Ragg.

The Thurles CBS All Stars joint managers are Pat Henderson and Fr. Tom Fogarty. Pat Henderson from Fenians who won a Dean Ryan medal (Munster under 16.5) in 1960 and cycled to school, won five All-Ireland’s as a player, three as manager, two all stars and hurler of the year 1974. Fr Tom Fogarty from Moyne-Templetuohy has managed Tipperary at Minor, Under 21 and Senior level and also managed the Offaly Senior Hurlers.

There will be a special 80 page Memorabilia Programme produced for the occasion while there will be a Primary Schools students exhibition game at half-time with over 90 children taking part.

Past pupils who played with Tipperary or Kilkenny seniors or were on training panels make up the Thurles CBS All Stars panel. See below the list of All Stars which Pat Henderson and Fr. Tom Fogarty will have to choose from.

PJ Ryan Fenians
Cathal Barrett Holycross/Ballycahill
James Barry Upperchurch Drombane
Michael Cahill Thurles Sarsfields
Ronan Maher Thurles Sarsfields
PadraiC Maher Thurles Sarsfields
John Meagher Loughmore Castleiney
Seamus Kennedy St Marys
Kieran Morris Moycarkey Borris
Lar Corbett Thurles Sarsfields
Denis Maher Thurles Sarsfields
Timmy Hammersly Clonoulty Rossmore
Aidan Fogarty Emeralds
Pa Bourke Thurles Sarsfields
Seamus Butler Drom & Inch
Damien Young Drom & Inch
Paul Maher Moyne Templetuohy
Sean Ryan Sean Treacys
John Devane Clonoulty Rossmore
John Coghlan Moyne Templetuohy
Stephen Lillis Thurles Sarsfields
Ger O’Grady Thurles Sarsfields
Johnny Enright Thurles Sarsfields
Micheal Butler Drom & Inch
Stephen Maher Thurles Sarsfields
David Butler Drom & Inch
Sean Maher Clonoulty Rossmore
Brian Troy Emeralds (injured)
John O’Neill Clonoulty Rossmore (away)
Michael Gleeson Thurles Sarsfields (away)

The following is the Tipperary SH team to play Thurles CBS Past Players next Sunday in The Ragg at 2pm:

1. Darragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty)
2. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
3. Michael Breen (Ballina)
4. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty)
5. Willie Ryan (Clonakenny)
6. Tossie Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)
7. Liam Ryan (Drom & Inch)
8. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)
9. Daire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg)
10. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha Dorrha)
12. Dan McCormack (Borris Ileigh)
13. Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
14. Conor Kenny (Borris Ileigh)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
16. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)
17. Brian Hogan (Lorrha Dorrha)
18. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
19. Sean Curran (Mullinahone)
20. Dylan Fitzell (Cashel King Cormacs)
21. Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
22. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg)
23. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
24. Brendan Maher (Borris Ileigh)
25. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)


Our Sponsors