Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Senior Hurling Challenge – Tipperary 2-15 Wexford 0-16

January 11th, 2015

Tipperary defeated Wexford by 2-15 to 0-16 in a Senior Hurling Challenge game played at Leahy Park Cashel on Sunday.

Wexford had the aid of the wind in the first half and led by 0-10 to 1-4, David Butler (Drom & Inch) with the goal after good work by Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs).

With wind advantage in the second half, Tipperary took control and a Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh) goal ensured the home side won by five points.

The Tipperary team lined out as follows – Darren Gleeson (Portroe); Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule, 0-1), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Michael Breen (Ballina), Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Gearoid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons); Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons, 0-1), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch); Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Sean Maher (0-1), Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh, 1-2); David Butler (Drom & Inch, 1-2), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule, 0-2, 0-1 free), Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
Subs: Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch, 0-4, 0-2 frees) for O’Meara, Micheal Butler (Drom & Inch) for McGrath, Daniel Guinan (Killenaule) for O’Mahony, Jason Forde (Silvermines, 0-2) for John O’Dwyer

The Wexford starting team was as follows – Niall Breen; Eoin Moore, Tomas Waters, Ciaran Kenny; Paudie Foley, Lee Chin, Richie Keogh; David Redmond, Harry Kehoe; Paul Morris, Daithe Waters, Ian Byrne; Rhys Clarke, Podge Doran, Liam Og McGovern

Our Sponsors