• Buy your GAA 2020 season ticket today

  • GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

North Tipperary GAA News – January 7th 2013

January 7th, 2014

North Tipp GAA News … for Jan 4th

By Liam Hogan PRO

Co U-21 B Hurling

Borrisokane’s bid to become the tenth North club to claim County U-21 B Hurling honours came unstuck as their brave bid failed on a 2-9 to 0-9 defeat to Moyne Templetuohy Og.

Nineteen clubs have claimed the honour of winning the title since the competition commenced in 1987. Moneygall were the first winners and they retained the title in 1991. The other North clubs include Kilruane MacDonaghs- 1993;

Borris-Ileigh – 1995; Erin’s Hope – 1996; Burgess -1998; Templederry – 2001;

Newport -2003; Kildangan 2004 and 2010 and Silvermines in 2006.

Upperchurch Drombane top the poll with three wins in 2005, 2007 and 2012.

For the record 12 North clubs and three amalgamations has tasted success in either County Under-21 A, B or C titles

Kilruane MacDonaghs: 7 A 1 B

Toomevara 5 A nil

Nenagh Eire Og 5 A nil

Roscrea 5 A nil

Borris-Ileigh 3 A 1 B

Na Piarsaigh (Burgess/Kildangan) 2 A

Moneygall 1 A 2 B 1C

Lorrha / Knockshegowna 1 A nil

Kildangan nil 2 B

Eirn’s Hope(BoKane/Knockshe nil 1 B

Burgess nil 1 B

Templederry nil 1 B

Newport nil 1 B 1 C

Silvermines nil 1 B

Ballinahinch nil nil 3 C

This leaves Lorrha, Borrisokane, Shannon Rovers, Knockshegowna, Portroe and Ballina as clubs yet to reach the winners podium.

Yet To Come

A: The North Intermediate football final between Borrisokane and Kildangan.

Players of the year

Eight players were selected for the various Players of the Year awards in both Hurling and Football for 2013 at a North Board Officers meeting held in the Hibernian Inn, Nenagh last Friday night. The eight players, five hurling and three football areas follows.

They are: Senior Hurling- Darragh Egan, Kildangan;

Intermediate Hurling – Patrick Cosgrave, Ballina;

Junior Hurling- Declan Costello, Knockshegowna;

Under 21 Hurling- Niall O’Meara, Kilruane MacDonaghs;

Minor Hurling-Barry Heffernan, Nenagh Eire Og.

The three footballers are: Adult Football- George Hannigan, Shannon Rovers;

Under 21 Football- Brian Davis, Borrisokane;

Minor Football-Willie Connors, Kildangan.

The identity of the overall Hurler and Footballer of the year will be presented at a function held at Lakeside Hotel on the 17th January at 8.00pm.

Referees Honoured

Four former Referees will be honoured on the night. They include Sean Carroll, Knockshegowna; Martin Healy, Nenagh Eire Og; P.J Cleary, Lorrha; and John Collins, Templederry.

Our Sponsors