Inter-Divisional Hurling Tournament re-ignited – The Miller Shield - Tipperary GAA
  • GAA Healthy Clubs - Club recruitment is now open!

  • Tipperary Draw 2020

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

Inter-Divisional Hurling Tournament re-ignited – The Miller Shield

November 11th, 2021 | By Jonathan Cullen

Inter-Divisional Hurling Tournament re-ignited – The Miller Shield

Colm Bonnar and his management team of Tommy Dunne, Paul Curran and Johnny Enright have re-ignited the senior hurling inter divisional tournament and invited hurlers from each of the divisions to take part in this competition.

“We committed a number of months ago that we would look in every corner of the county and in doing this, we are bringing over 80 players from the South, North, Mid and West to play each other over 3 consecutive weekends starting Saturday 20th Nov”.

For hurlers, this is a unique opportunity to represent and play with players from their own division and one they can take great pride in. Part of the standing tradition is where the divisional team plays under the colours of their divisional championship winners, who this year are Clonoulty Rossmore, Killenaule, Kiladangan, and Thurles Sarsfields.  For those that might remember, this competition was called the Miller Shield, and this year it will be run on a league basis (2 points for a win, 1 for a draw), with the winning division, having amassed the most points at the end of the 3 weekends.

“To support us in running the divisional competition, we have great hurling men from all our divisions to give us an extensive and fresh look at the talent we have right across the county”.

  • The Mid team is managed by Eamonn Corcoran (JK Brackens), Noel Morris (Loughmore-Castleiney), and Gary Mernagh (Thurles Sarsfields)
  • The West team is managed by Brendan Bonnar (Cashel King Cormacs), Will Ryan (Clonoulty Rossmore), Brian Leamy (Golden Kilfeacle) and Ger O Neill (Cappawhite).
  • The North team is managed by Willie Ryan (Toomevara), Seamus Hennessy, ( kilruane MacDonaghs)
  • The South team is managed by Kenneth Browne (killenaule), Sean O Regan (Mullinahone), Brendan Cagney (St Marys)

The Tipperary management team really appreciate the support of the divisional managers and selectors. “For all of the players who take this opportunity to represent their division and put their hand up for a place on the Tipperary Senior Hurling panel, we wish you the very best of luck also. Representing your division is indeed a worthy aspiration in itself, and along with the championship games already played, these divisional games will be used by the Tipperary management team to select the Tipperary senior hurling panel for 2022”.

The Draw

Saturday 20th  – South V North  and West V Mid

Weekend of 27th/28th  -West V North and South V Mid

Weekend of 4th/5th Dec  -West V South and Mid V North.

Venues and times to be organised but most likely games starting at 11am and 1.15pm

Our Sponsors