Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Thiobraid Árann

  • Tipperary Club Championships 2018

Allianz Football League Division 3 – Tipperary 0-15 Sligo 0-13

March 28th, 2015

Allianz Football League Division 3 – Tipperary 0-15 Sligo 0-13

Tipperary will play Sligo in Round 6 of the Allianz Football League Division 3 at 3.00pm on March 29th in Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Colin O’Riordan injury mars Tipperary win over Sligo

Tipperary 0-15 Sligo 0-13

Report from the Irish Times newspaper

Tipperary fourth successive victory was overshadowed by a serious injury to Colin O’Riordan. The 2014 All Star nominee went down clutching his head in the 52nd minute following a Ross Donovan tackle and play was stopped for 17 minutes while O’Riordan received medical attention. He was stretchered off with what was later confirmed as a neck problem but Tipp still managed to survive that setback to leave Sligo sweating on survival.

Tipp’s promotion hopes had been extinguished when Armagh and Fermanagh both won but that didn’t stop the Premier County extending their good run. At half-time, Tipp were a point down, 0-7 to 0-8, having played against a gale. It was a close affair throughout but Tipp rallied decisively at the finish to score four of the game’s final five points.

TIPPERARY: E Comerford; A Campbell, P Codd, R Kiely (0-1); S Kennedy, P Acheson, C O’Riordan (0-1); G Hannigan, S O’Brien; L Casey, P Austin (0-3), I Fahey (0-1); J Lonergan (0-2), C Sweeney (0-5, 0-4 frees), G Mulhair
Subs: B Mulvihill (0-1) for Casey (46), D Dwyer for O’Riordan (55), B Grogan (0-1) for Lonergan, A Morrissey for Campbell (both 70+8), S Flynn for Fahey (70+16), D Lynch for Mulhair (70+20).

SLIGO: A Devaney (0-1, free); D Maye, K McDonnell, R Donovan; K Cawley, E Flanagan, B Egan; C Breheny, N Murphy (0-1); N Ewing, M Breheny (0-7, 0-2 frees), C Kearns; D Kelly (0-2), P Hughes, A Marren (0-1)
Subs: S Coen for Ewing (BC 25), K Sweeney for Marren (BC 26), S Gilmartin (0-1) for C Breheny (29), J Martyn for Kearns (h-t), P Clarke for Sweeney (70+18)

Referee: J Hickey (Carlow)

Team News

The Tipperary Senior Football team to play Sligo in Semple Stadium at 3pm, on Sunday next, March 29th, in the Allianz Football League Roinn 3 round 6 fixture has been announced. It shows two changes to the starting 15 which defeated Louth in the last round. Both changes take place in the inside forward line. In come Jason Lonergan and Ger Mulhaire at top of the right and left respectfully in place of the injured pair, Barry Grogan and Brian Fox while Conor Sweeny moves to full forward, as Peter Creedon’s side endeavour to keep the pressure on the top two in the division.

The team then in full is as follows;

Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan Kilcash), Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers), Paddy Codd (Capt.) (Killenaule), Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers), Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers), Colin O’Riordan (J K Brackens), George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Liam Casey (Cahir), Philip Austin (Borrisokane), Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen ), Ger Mulhaire (Arravale Rovers).

Our Sponsors